>>>>If deemed a primary offense, would Maryland officers be authorized to stop vehicles if they observe a couple of kids gasping beneath a of ?
I neva gasped under a cumulus cloud of Marlboro Light smoke when ME was a kid. Wha makes kids gasp under a cloud of cig smoke in a car now? LOL!!!
People do a good job of making smokers sound like murderers when dey around kids. Dat makes child abusers/molestors sound like innocent people compared to smokers around kids.
I wonder what a MD authority would do if he saw an under-18 person smoking in the car too. LOL
http://www.examiner .com/x-9913- Maryland- Statehouse- Examiner~ y2010m1d29- Its-back- -MD-lawmakers- again-seek- prohibition- fines-for- smoking-in- cars-carrying- kids
Third in a seemingly never-ending series of sheer legislative silliness and chutzpah
In what is perceived to be just another in a long line of attempts to legislate people’s behavior, Delegate Ben Barnes (D – Anne Arundel and Prince George’s County) today introduced HB 438, a bill that would prohibit the driver of a motor vehicle from smoking a tobacco product in a car in which a child younger than 8 years of age is present.
Children nine and older – one would presume - would be issued a state-approved respirator.
While current language would also prohibit any passengers in the vehicle from lighting up – and calls for a fine of up to $50 – there is no wording declaring the level of offense such a law would carry.
If deemed a primary offense, would Maryland officers be authorized to stop vehicles if they observe a couple of kids gasping beneath a cumulus cloud of Marlboro Lights?
If the offense is to be considered not serious enough to warrant a , will the offending puffer only be cited when coinciding with a stop for a or traffic accident?
Will electronic interstate signboards that currently encourage us to report result in an explosion of 9-1-1 emergencies reporting those parents who choose to use a legal product in the privacy of their vehicles – regardless of the lack of common sense in making such a decision?
(ban applies to children under 1, Arkansas (motor vehicle carrying a child under age six years old who weighs less than 60 pounds and is in a car seat), Louisiana (allows police to ticket drivers who are smoking in vehicles with children 12 and younger), and Maine (smoking is banned in any car when a person under the age of 16 is present) have passed laws outlawing smoking in cars with children.
Ten other states are considering similar laws.
Delegate Barnes introduced a similar bill during last year’s session (HB 966), but it received an unfavorable report and never made it out of the Environmental Matters Committee.
Delegate: you can’t fix stupid any easier than you can legislate intelligence. Smoking is a disgusting, harmful habit. And if one is already brimming with the kind of parental brainpower that leads to strapping a kid into a poorly ventilated tin box and chain-smoking Camels, HB 438 won’t reduce the idiocy.
Use the Assembly resources link to contact your legislators and view bills and hearing schedules